Blog full page ad horizontal

NEWS: The Black British Theatre Awards reveal 2020 nominees & announce the ceremony will be broadcast on Sky Arts

The BBTAs have revealed the 2020 Black British Theatre Awards nominee list, voted almost entirely by the public and representing some of the finest work by Black performers and creatives in UK theatre.

Building on the ground-breaking inaugural live event hosted by Ore Oduba in 2019, the 2020 awards ceremony will air on Sky Arts this autumn, as part of the channel’s free to air line-up.

This year has been a landmark year with unprecedented challenges presented by the impact of Covid-19 and the global call for racial justice, equity and inclusion across all aspects of society.

The 2020 Black British Theatre Awards programme will be executively produced by Kwame Kwei-Armah, produced by Shantelle Rochester and directed by Charlie Di Placido and Kojey Radical. The socially distanced event will take place at London’s Young Vic Theatre, and nominees together with special guests will attend an awards ceremony interspersed with live music, interviews, dance and artistic content. This year’s aim is to highlight, as well as champion, the recognition and representation of Black talent in British theatre.

The Black British Theatre Awards will be broadcast exclusively on Sky Arts in late October. Host and presenters to be announced shortly.

BBTA directors Solange Urdang and Omar F Okai said:

“This is an important year with UK Theatre coming to a standstill and The Black Lives Matter movement protests. We feel it is important now more than ever to highlight the wonderful Black British talent we have in abundance and hope to bring positivity to such a difficult time.”

Philip Edgar-Jones, director at Sky Arts, added: “We are pleased to be able to provide a platform at Sky Arts to showcase the very best of Black British Theatre Talent – particularly at a time of such crisis for the theatre industry. Art and culture is even more vital at this point and we know the incredible talent on display here will point the way to a brighter future when the recovery begins.”   

The Black British Theatre Awards 2020 Nominees are:

Best Director Award For A Play Or Musical

Clint Dyer, Death of England, National Theatre
Nadia Latif, Fairview, Young Vic Theatre
Ola Ince, Appropriate, Donmar Warehouse
Roy Alexander Weise, ‘Master Harold’… and the boys, National Theatre

Best Producer Award

Adrian Grant, Thriller Live, Lyric Theatre
Nicole Raquel Dennis and Ryan Carter, Turn Up, Cadogan Hall
Tobi Kyeremateng, My White Best Friend (and Other Letters Left Unsaid), Royal Court Theatre 

Best Choreographer Award

Kenrick ‘H2O’ Sandy MBE, REDD, Barbican Theatre
Lanre Malaolu, Pass Over, Kiln Theatre
Shelley Maxwell, ‘Master Harold’… and the boys, National Theatre

Best Dance Performance In A Dance Production Award

Kenrick ‘H2O’ Sandy MBE, REDD, Barbican Theatre
Marcelino Sambé, The Cellist, Royal Opera House

Best Dance Production Award

Ingoma, Ballet Black, Barbican Theatre
REDD – Boy Blue, Barbican Theatre
Some Like It Hip Hop – ZooNation, Peacock Theatre

Best Use Of Innovation And Technology

Nicole Raquel Dennis and Ryan Carter, Turn Up, Cadogan Hall

Light And Sound Recognition Award

Carmen Wright
Simeon Miller
Tony Gayle

Costume Design Recognition Award

Jodie Simone Howe
Maybelle Laye
Natalie Pryce

Book And Lyrics Recognition Award

Arinzé Kene
Roy Williams
Shirley Thompson OBE

Musical Director Recognition Award

Ian Oakley
Sean Green
Shiloh Coke

Casting Director Recognition Award

Isabella Odoffin

Best Male Actor In A Play

Lucian Msamati, ‘Master Harold’… and the boys, National Theatre
Paapa Essiedu, Pass Over, Kiln Theatre
Valentine Olukoga, The Fishermen, Trafalgar Studios

Best Female Actor In A Play

Rakie Ayola, On Bear Ridge, Royal Court Theatre
Ronke Adekoluejo, Three Sisters, National Theatre
Sharon D. Clarke MBE, Death of a Salesman, Piccadilly Theatre

Best Supporting Male Actor In A Play

Arinzé Kene, Death of a Salesman, Young Vic Theatre
Nari Blair-Mangat, Cyrano de Bergerac, Playhouse Theatre
Reice Weathers, The Upstart Crow, Gielgud Theatre

Best Supporting Female Actor In A Play

Cherrelle Skeete, The High Table, Bush Theatre
Michele Austin, Cyrano de Bergerac, Playhouse Theatre
Rosalind Eleazar, Uncle Vanya, Harold Pinter Theatre 

Best Production Play

Death of a Salesman, Piccadilly Theatre
Fairview, Young Vic Theatre
Three Sisters, National Theatre

Best Male Actor In A Musical

Jason Brock, Thriller Live, Lyric Theatre
Jonathan Andrew Hume, Come from Away, Phoenix Theatre
Noah Thomas, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie, Apollo Theatre

Best Female Actor In A Musical

Aisha Jawando, TINA – The Tina Turner Musical, Aldwych Theatre
Maiya Quansah-Breed, Six the Musical, Arts Theatre
Miriam-Teak Lee, & Juliet, The Shaftesbury Theatre

Best Supporting Male Actor In A Musical

Arun Blair-Mangat, & Juliet, The Shaftesbury Theatre
Nicholas McLean, Wicked, Apollo Victoria Theatre
Tarinn Callender, Hamilton, Victoria Palace Theatre

Best Supporting Female Actor In A Musical

Melanie La Barrie, & Juliet, The Shaftesbury Theatre
Nicole Raquel Dennis, Dear Evan Hansen, Noël Coward Theatre
Shanay Holmes, The Bridges of Madison County, Menier Chocolate Factory

Best Musical Production Award

Hamilton, Victoria Palace Theatre
Thriller Live, Lyric Theatre
TINA The Tina Turner Musical, Aldwych Theatre 

LGBTQ+ Champion Award

Arun Blair-Mangat
Layton Williams
Rikki Beadle-Blair MBE

Disability Champion Award

Chris Fonseca
Rachel Nwokoro

Best Teacher Of Performing Arts As A Subject Award

David Blake, WAC Arts
Dollie Henry, Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance
Kamara Gray, Urdang Academy/Artistry Youth Dance

Best Recent Graduate Award

Danielle Fiamanya, Guildford School of Acting
Stacy Abalogun, Royal Academy of Dramatic Art
Tonye Scott-Obene, Italia Conti Academy of Theatre Arts

Lifetime Achievement Award

Shirley Thompson OBE

from News, Reviews and Features – My Theatre Mates

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in comment box.

Bottom Ad [Post Page]